What’s For Dinner?

In true Monday morning fashion, I ran around the kitchen this morning talking to myself, “Do I have anything to take for lunch? nope” “Oh my god, I need to take something out for dinner!” “What are we having for dinner?” then I saw the hamburger in the freezer and the hamburger buns and decided we were having hamburgers for dinner!  Quick, easy and delicious.

My husband and I always get home pretty late, I get off work at 5, then drive to pick him up at 6 and we usually don’t make it home until 7ish depending on what we need to do before going home, if anything. Tonight we just needed a few bunch of things at the grocery store, so we made it home at 7:15.

Now I don’t know about you,  but when I’m always home so late, I never feel like making anything that takes too much effort.  I like to leave big meals to weekends off when I can really take my time prepping and cooking and I can make things that take long periods of time to cook. So hamburgers ended up being a great choice and I decided to make some coleslaw as well.

I started off with some bacon, because let’s face it..what is a hamburger without bacon and cheese? I’ll tell you what it is, nothing I want to eat.  When the bacon was done, I left the fat in the pan to cook the hamburgers in, mmm bacon grease.  I mixed my ground hamburger with worchestershire sauce, garlic powder, onion soup mix, bread crumbs and an egg.  I made 4 good sized patties and fried them on the stove in the grease.

While they were cooking, I put together the coleslaw.  Now the coleslaw isn’t 100% homemade, but it partially is and that is all that matters, right?  When you are cooking for 2 during the week on limited time and 3 on weekends, sometimes you need to take some shortcuts in order to not waste a lot of food!  I used pre-packaged coleslaw veggies, coleslaw dressing, dill and some cholula for good measure.  The Cholula was Matt’s idea, but when it comes to food, he rarely has a bad idea so we went with it and it ended up being delicious.

We then topped the burgers with cheddar cheese and goat cheese and used whatever condiments we both like.  I am slightly obsessed with the Cholula and goat cheese pairing so of course this is a must.

That was our dinner, it was a great way to finish off a Monday because hello, it’s Monday and we need to make it better somehow haha.

Leave a comment