Booker’s BBQ Grill & Crab Shack

 Saturday night was our monthly BTD dinner, and this month it was Melissa’s pick.  Melissa chose Booker’s, which was great because I have wanted to try it since we moved here.  She made a reservation through Open Table which is super easy and convenient.

For this dinner, we were missing Judy, 😦 sad times.  The girls got some appys, I did not but I did get to try a little of everything.  Sarah ordered the crab cakes which were so flavourful and had a little spice to them.  Leah and Jessica shared the deep fried pickles, I’m not sure I’ve had bad ones anywhere! Melissa ordered the smoked chicken wings, which strangely enough tasted like sausage which Jessica pointed out.

For dinner, I ordered the Rib Steak Sandwich and fries.  I was actually surprised that they ask how you want it cooked, medium it is! It was FANTASTIC.  I couldn’t eat the whole sandwich, lucky for Matt who got to experience a little of everything with the doggy bag I brought home haha.  The Cajun mayo and crispy onions really made the sandwich and it was served with a deep fried pickle on top!  I tried some of Jessica’s jalapeno mac n cheese which was really good, just the slightest hint of jalapeno though, so not super hot if that’s what you are looking for and I had some of her ribs as well which were excellent!  Leah ordered the brisket dinner, so I got to try a piece and it was amazing, it had a nice crust on the outside! Melissa had the roast chicken but I had already had a wing so I didn’t ask to try.

 I saw Cherry Cheesecake in a Jar and I knew instantly that I was having dessert.  It was AMAZING!  It was Atlantic style cheesecake and it was the best cheesecake I’ve had in Calgary (other than my own :P).

The parking situation was ok, unfortunately for us it was raining and then that turned into snow while we were inside, so just a short walk to the back of the building was a cold and wet one.

Overall, it had a great atmosphere and I would love to go again.

Leave a comment